Theta is an international organization with college and alumnae chapters throughout the United States and Canada.  Our Headquarters, located in Indianapolis, Indiana, serves the more than 250,000 women have been initiated since its founding. The strong friendships within chapters and across the continent are what hold the fraternity together. 

When Theta was founded in 1870 by Bettie Locke Hamilton, Alice Allen Brant, Bettie Tipton Lindsey, and Hannah Fitch Shaw, it became the first Greek-letter fraternity among women. Moreover, the very idea of higher education for women was a novelty. Since then, Thetas have excelled as students and have gone on to achieve prominence in every professional field. 

The Delta Phi chapter of Kappa Alpha Theta was introduced at Clemson University in November of 1972. Twenty-five undergraduates and four alumnae were invited to membership, making Delta Phi the first chapter of Kappa Alpha Theta in South Carolina and the fourth women's Greek organization installed at Clemson University.